Getting into an accident can be frustrating and confusing, especially if you’re riding in an Uber at the time. On top of dealing with potential injuries and financial stress, you likely have many questions and concerns about the legality of your situation. Seeking an Uber accident lawyer following a rideshare accident can help you obtain the financial security you need to recover from your injuries without worry.
Uber Accidents in South Carolina
Uber accidents can happen like any other automobile accident. The main difference is that you’re not in control of the vehicle, and you’re likely in the backseat at the time of the collision.
The most common causes of car accidents include:
- Distracted driving
- Following too closely
- Failure to yield
- Unsafe lane changes
- Driver fatigue
- Failure to obey traffic signs and laws
- Aggressive driving
- Impaired driving
An accident involving an Uber may be the fault of either your Uber driver or another driver. No matter who’s to blame, one thing is certain: it’s not your fault. You may therefore have a valid claim for compensation with a Uber accident lawyer for any injuries and losses you suffer in an Uber accident.
Requirements for Ubers in South Carolina
Uber provides certain requirements that prospective drivers and their vehicles must meet before they can work with the company.
Uber drivers must:
- Be at least 21 years old
- Provide documentation (including driver’s license and proof of residency)
- Pass a background check
Their vehicles must:
- Be registered and have a valid license plate
- Be 15 years old or newer
- Have four doors
- Be in good general condition
- Not display a logo or branding of any kind
- Pass an inspection
Uber drivers and their vehicles are expected to meet these requirements to ensure the safety of drivers and their passengers.
Insurance Coverage for Ubers
Uber drivers must also acquire and maintain a minimum amount of car insurance per South Carolina law. In South Carolina, minimum car insurance is as follows:
- $25,000: liability coverage per person for bodily injury
- $50,000: liability coverage for everyone injured in a single accident
- $25,000: liability coverage for property damage
Uber provides additional insurance coverage themselves. Coverage available for an accident depends on the status of the driver at the time of the collision.
If a driver is working but doesn’t have a passenger, coverage includes:
- $50,000: coverage per injured person
- $100,000: coverage for everyone injured in an accident
- $25,000: coverage for property damage
If a driver is working and has a passenger in their vehicle during the collision, coverage includes up to $1 million in total coverage.
Should an Uber driver get into an accident while they’re off the clock, they would only be able to rely on their own insurance.
An Uber Accident Lawyer Can Handle Your Claim
If you’re involved in an Uber accident in Mount Pleasant, Myrtle Beach, or the surrounding areas, you can count on Lowcountry Law, LLC to help you with your claim.
We know Uber accidents can be confusing, and you might be unsure of what to do next. Contact our office as soon as you’re able to schedule a consultation with our experienced Uber accident lawyer.