Lyft offers a convenient way to get from place to place around the city. While riding a Lyft is generally safe, car accidents can happen, leaving you with injuries and losses you never saw coming. Our Lyft accident attorney at Lowcountry Law, LLC is eager to hear your story and provide quality legal advice to get you the recovery you need.
Requirements for Lyft Drivers and Vehicles
To help ensure the safety of drivers and their passengers, Lyft has several requirements that potential drivers and their vehicles must meet to begin working.
Before the applicant can drive for Lyft, a person must:
- Be at least 25 years old
- Have a valid driver’s license
- Pass a driver screening (driving record and background check)
- Have a smartphone to use the Lyft app
For a driver to be able to work for Lyft, their vehicle must:
- Be no older than a 2006 model
- Have four doors and 5-8 seats (including the driver’s seat)
- Be properly registered with a valid license plate
Additionally, Lyft has certain time requirements for drivers while on the job. If a driver has been working 12 hours in one day, whether consecutive or not, they must take a mandatory minimum six-hour break. This is because driver fatigue can be a significant problem, increasing the chances of collisions.
Insurance Coverage for Lyft Cars
Aside from the above requirements, Lyft also has insurance requirements.
Lyft drivers must maintain their own auto insurance policy that meets state minimum requirements under the law. In South Carolina, minimum car insurance coverage includes:
- $25,000 bodily injury protection per person
- $50,000 bodily injury protection for every injured person per accident
- $25,000 property damage protection
Lyft also has insurance protection for drivers. However, insurance protection depends on the status of the driver at the time of the accident.
If a driver has the app on and is waiting for a ride request at the time of the collision, coverage includes:
- $50,000 per person for bodily injury
- $100,000 per accident for bodily injury
- $25,000 per accident for property damage
If a driver is working and is either on their way to pick up a passenger or has a passenger in their vehicle, coverage includes:
- At least $1 million for third-party liability
- First-party coverages, including uninsured/underinsured motorist and personal injury protection
If a driver has their app off and is not working at the time of the accident, their own car insurance coverage applies.
Who’s Liable for a Lyft Accident?
Liability depends on who caused the car accident.
If the other driver (not your Lyft driver) is responsible for causing the accident, they could be held liable. You could pursue compensation from their insurance company.
If your Lyft driver caused the collision, the driver would be liable. However, even if the driver is responsible, liability may shift to Lyft since the driver was working at the time of the accident.
Determining liability can be tricky, but a Lyft accident attorney can decipher what caused the accident and who’s at fault.
Speak to a Lyft Accident Attorney
The legal team at Lowcountry Law, LLC can handle your Lyft accident claim, working diligently to get you the compensation you deserve for your injuries and losses. From communicating with the insurance company to obtaining pertinent evidence, you can count on us to do everything necessary to reach the most favorable result.
We have offices in Mount Pleasant and Myrtle Beach, South Carolina. Contact us today to schedule your free consultation.